Notices
Project Cars / Build Threads Please post your build threads here.

Don's Evo

Search this Thread

Old Dec 8, 2012, 11:17 AM
Evolving Member

Received 23 Likes on 14 Posts
Don's Evo

The History Of My EVO IX + My Experience with Buschur Racing.

At the age of fifty seven, you are probably wondering why an individual of that age would desire an Evo. I have been an Automotive Instructor at a Vocational School for the majority of my career until I retired recently. I have had many fast motorcycles and a few fast cars in my day. I recently sold my last muscle car. [ 1970 AAR Cuda 340 Six Pack ] Although I never planned to acquire another muscle car then alone desire to get involved in a large build such as this Evo. I have always had a good relationship with my students and looked forward to waking up in the morning to report to work. I was a hands on teacher and had many of my toys in the shop to be worked on often. I guess I am just a big kid and never lost interest in motorized toys. One day during the 2006, 2007 school year, one of my students makes a comment about my AAR Cuda picture on the bulletin board. He remarks, "you should get a STI or an Evo" I told him that I know what an STI is, but I never heard of an Evo. So he proceeds, along with several other students to show me a few videos on a website called Streetfire. They were Evo's beating big V8's. I found that interesting. For the rest of the school year my students continued to brainwash me into buying an Evo. The one movie that put me over the top was the Top Gear video. [ Evo verses a Lambrogini ] We are now at the end of the school year and I wonder into the local Mitsubishi dealer and ask if they have any in stock. I did not realize they did not make a 2007 Evo. I got lucky and they had a 2006 MR with the SE package. I bought the last one in the area, I was very lucky to get one and I even liked the color.