Notices
Project Cars / Build Threads Please post your build threads here.

lancer conversion to evo 8/9

Search this Thread

Old Jun 2, 2019, 07:12 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
lancer conversion to evo 8/9

hey everyone first of all I'm new to this forum, nice to meet all of you kindhearted people.

Now, on to business. So I'm planning on getting an older base model AWD Lancer and converting it into an Evo 8/9 which I know will not be cheap or easy. The problem is I cant quite figure out a good roadmap for how I'm going to go about this since I am fairly new to being a car enthusiast (1-2 years on and off). the only part I know I will leave for last is the bodywork since It could make for an interesting sleeper for the time being

feel free to give me any suggestions on how I could kick start this project!

Old Jun 2, 2019, 07:15 PM
Evolved Member

Received 76 Likes on 67 Posts
Why not find a cheap roller and fix that up, i see them going from 4-8k sure thats probably cheaper ???
Old Jun 2, 2019, 07:33 PM

Better off buying a salvaged Evo (non accident) or high mileage. Or both. Save you time and head ache getting all the parts. Smog can be an issue later too, if you live in a state like NY or CA. Extra money every couple years to illegally smog the vehicle.

only expensive part with either option would be the Evo motor. Haven’t seen any cheap Evo motors. Their like type r motors. Over priced. But not as expensive as a rb26 or a 2jz.

Good luck w the project regardless which road you take.
Old Jun 2, 2019, 07:43 PM
EvoM Guru

Received 226 Likes on 155 Posts
I'm going to go ahead and say that its not worth the time or money. There would be no benefit to going this route vs just buying an evo to start with.
Old Jun 2, 2019, 09:05 PM

Originally Posted by huzzle101
Why not find a cheap roller and fix that up, i see them going from 4-8k sure thats probably cheaper ???