Notices
Water / Methanol Injection / Nitrous Oxide

Aquamist needs your advice...

Thread Tools
 
Search this Thread
 
Old Dec 20, 2006 | 05:15 PM
  #1  
Richard L's Avatar
Thread Starter
Former Sponsor
iTrader: (5)
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 2,236
Likes: 0
From: England
Aquamist needs your advice...

When I typed in "aquamist" on google search, a sponsored link comes up.

I clicked on the link that says:

Water injection-Aquamist, Snow performance's European dealer appears.

I delved deeper into the contents by click "view source". Not only did they put in Aquamist System on their Meta header, they also put in Aquamist erl !!!

Do you think they have a right to do this? Any comments are welcomed
Reply
Old Dec 20, 2006 | 05:30 PM
  #2  
Saikou_kun's Avatar
Evolving Member
iTrader: (41)
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 382
Likes: 0
From: ARIZONA
Questionable tactics

Don't they need your permission to use your name in their advertisements?
Reply
Old Dec 20, 2006 | 06:36 PM
  #3  
C6C6CH3vo's Avatar
Evolved Member
iTrader: (9)
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 4,223
Likes: 4
From: sc
A good time ago I typed in "SI-05" (snow product) and a cooling mist site pops up, try it.

Perhaps we should confirm that that the Euro snow seller has anything to do with it before speculating that it was an intended marketing play, could be something else
Reply
Old Dec 20, 2006 | 06:40 PM
  #4  
Mivecless's Avatar
Newbie
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 87
Likes: 0
From: Connecticut
Sue everyone.
Reply
Old Dec 20, 2006 | 06:47 PM
  #5  
coolingmist's Avatar
Evolving Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 225
Likes: 0
From: atlanta
Originally Posted by C6C6CH3vo
A good time ago I typed in "SI-05" (snow product) and a cooling mist site pops up, try it.

Perhaps we should confirm that that the Euro snow seller has anything to do with it before speculating that it was an intended marketing play, could be something else
type in Coolingmist and snow performance comes up

I think the problem here is not putting your competitors name as a key word search, the problem is putting a competitors name on the link that you click. That implies that you sell that competitors product, and its un ethical.
Reply
Old Dec 21, 2006 | 12:03 AM
  #6  
Richard L's Avatar
Thread Starter
Former Sponsor
iTrader: (5)
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 2,236
Likes: 0
From: England
I have written to Mr Bodo Shuermann (German Snow Performance dealer) as follows...

Hello Bodo,

I would be grateful if you could remove the "aquamist" header tag on your website. I have had many people complaining to me that when they type in Aquamist on Google, it shows up a www.snowperformance.de link as "Water injection-Aquamist".

Is this an un-intentional mistake?

Regards

Richard
richard@aquamist.co.uk
www.aquamist.co.uk

ERL Ltd
Iroko house
Bolney Avenue
Peacehaven
East Sussex
BN10 8HF
England
Reply
Old Dec 22, 2006 | 10:57 AM
  #7  
esevo's Avatar
Evolved Member
iTrader: (11)
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 759
Likes: 1
From: Tucson AZ
Wow thats not cool!
Reply
Old Dec 22, 2006 | 01:08 PM
  #8  
Inn-Tune's Avatar
Evolving Member
iTrader: (33)
 
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 149
Likes: 0
From: Buffalo, NY
I have some info for you. PM Sent.

Last edited by Inn-Tune; Dec 22, 2006 at 01:17 PM.
Reply
Old Dec 22, 2006 | 03:20 PM
  #9  
C6C6CH3vo's Avatar
Evolved Member
iTrader: (9)
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 4,223
Likes: 4
From: sc
I did a search and four different companys appeared for the word. I think specific auto forums are the real source of advertising anyway - thats how I decided to purchace my system, right hear last year on ?f=173


Last edited by C6C6CH3vo; Dec 22, 2006 at 03:43 PM.
Reply
Old Dec 22, 2006 | 03:23 PM
  #10  
Richard L's Avatar
Thread Starter
Former Sponsor
iTrader: (5)
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 2,236
Likes: 0
From: England
He Wrote: (notice the signatures he uses to sign off below)

Hello Richard,

nearly ALL waterinjection manufacturer/dealers uses "Aquamist" as Website tag or as description/synonym for a WI-system. It´s grown to a usual synonym for WI-systems and furthermore irrigation systems (aquamist.net)

---
It doesn´t matter where you look - here for example:

www.turbocooler.de (other manufacuturer)
www.boostshop.de (german coolingmist distributor)

Either "aquamist" in tag and/or as Headline/Description. Especially
german speaking people mostly known "aquamist" as an synonym for a waterinjection system - not an ERL-product or any trademark.

coolingmist.com or snowperformance.net uses Google Adwords as well with the keyword "aquamist"


Besides, we´ve much more problems with competitors, such as:

www.snow-performance.de (its the same as turbocooler.de who offers a
copycat-system of the boost cooler - with an interesting market analysis.
The "Turbocooler" system with the Boost Cooler and the ERL Aquamist. - Of course, if you read that (unfortunately only in german), you are thinking that the "Turbocooler"-System is the best of course.

-- Or for example systems called "Basic Cooler 2" instead of our "Boost Cooler 2" etc pp. - with completely snitched functional description, FAQ and even nearly our complete installation instruction. But there´s like no way to take legal steps without high costs and risks.

I was at a lawyer/patent agent last month and it was frustrating. Besides, "Aquamist" is not international brand-protected - its nearly impossible, because in different countries "aquamist" is protected for different products (it can be only international/EU-wide protected if nobody already protected a brand nationally). Here in germany for example,"aquamist" is brand-protected for a fire extinguisher company for about 15 years. (A few years ago I asked them if it´s okay to use the descriptively word "aquamist"

in conjunction with the Boost Cooler Systems.

BTW Nowadays it´s impossible here to brandmark such a word, because it counts as a descriptively term.

BTW2: I spent about 25T€ since the last 3 years for Google Adwords and Overture, make a lot of educational work about waterinjection systems and make it *really* public in ger/at/ch. Many many german forum-entries looks like "I read casually about WI-systems on turbotuning.net, did you ever heard of that? And mostly comes answers from an old stager like:
"yes, (....) but take systems like ERL Aquamist or Boost Cooler... (...)".

In the beginning, the most people never heard of WI, each 2nd sceptical inquiry looks like "does me engine begins to rust? or whats about hydro-lock?"

I think that the complete german speaking market participated from that advertising campaigns. Before it seems to me that WI-Systems were a very specialized product with a relatively small interested range of customers (at least in ger/at/ch). I think thats why here in germany exists 5 (!) different supplier for WI-Systems (I avoid the the word Aquamist-systems
))

- Improbably that you´ve lost turnover the last 2-3+ years (in german speaking countries) - quite the reverse? ;-)

I hope my englisch was not sooo bad. It was really hard to write and I could write more but now I was sit about 1hour for that email, because often I had to look for a translation. Hope you understand my email in that case I wanted to mediate.

Best regards and happy Christmas to you and your family,

Bodo

TTNET - Snow Performance Europe
Boost Cooler Aquamist-Systems
Elbring 45, 21217 Seevetal
T: +49-(0)40 – 3999 2118
F: +49-(0)40 – 3999 2119

info@turbotuning.net
www.turbotuning.net
www.snowperformance.de


Reply
Old Dec 22, 2006 | 03:33 PM
  #11  
MikSchultzy's Avatar
Evolving Member
iTrader: (11)
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 486
Likes: 0
From: GSO, North Carolina
Originally Posted by Mivecless
Sue everyone.
Yay for America!
Reply
Old Dec 22, 2006 | 07:08 PM
  #12  
C6C6CH3vo's Avatar
Evolved Member
iTrader: (9)
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 4,223
Likes: 4
From: sc
Don't sue me I spent my last dime on a root canal,

Merry Christmas
Reply
Old Dec 23, 2006 | 06:23 AM
  #13  
Richard L's Avatar
Thread Starter
Former Sponsor
iTrader: (5)
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 2,236
Likes: 0
From: England
If you type in anyone of these names: Coolingmist, Snow performance etc on Google, they all hit #1 spot. Aquamist/aquamist sponsored link never comes up. But when you Google search Aquamist - every tom, dick and harry seemed to want a piece of our flash.

But when a sponsored link comes up as the one below:
(please click on it)

Water Injection-Aquamist

You will immediately notice why.
Reply
Old Dec 25, 2006 | 01:38 PM
  #14  
CO_VR4's Avatar
Evolved Member
iTrader: (83)
 
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,063
Likes: 5
From: Colorado
I'd check with my legal counsel if I were you, to find out how you can prevent them from using a trademarked name to draw your customers to them. It's pretty clear that they are not using "aquamist" to find customers for a German fire extingusher company...

In the meantime, conference with your webpage designer to find out how you can design the tags in your site so that the search engines put you at the top of the list when Aquamist is the search phrase. There are a number of ways that that can be done.
Reply
Old Dec 25, 2006 | 03:08 PM
  #15  
cpoevo's Avatar
Evolved Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 880
Likes: 1
From: SD
Anyone can use the "tag" for their search. Hell do a search for Jesus and a **** sight will pop up in there somewhere.
Reply



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:38 AM.