Notices
Evo X How Tos / Installations Post or link to your detailed how to / installation articles in here. If you have any questions regarding the how tos, feel free to post them in the Request sub-forum.

How to: Remove/Replace your engine

Search this Thread

Old Oct 2, 2014, 07:51 PM
Evolving Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
How to: Remove/Replace your engine

Because this is from our team forum that's more or less a project that was started, talk of other cars is present but the evo X is the car I used as the example.

Original thread can be found here.

This is a rather tedious job, but not difficult to do as long as you have a how-to such as this one to walk you through the process. I like to think of this as more of a walk-through than a how-to, since I'm no pro in this and have done this only once. The car used in this example is a Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution X, one of the more difficult cars to remove an engine from due to everything being cramped in there and the car being awd- adding a transfer case to have to deal with.

-Parts Required:
An engine, assuming you're replacing yours
Motor Oil
Transmission fluid
Water/Coolant
Transfer Case Fluid (Assuming you have AWD)
Oil Filter
Power Steering Fluid
Brake Fluid (if you're pulling the engine from the side)

-Tools Required (the basics):
Jacks, as many as possible if you're working alone. You also want one that could lift your car up at least 3.5 feet, to pull your engine from underneath in case you can't pull it from the top for one reason or another.
Engine crane/hoist/ cherry picker, whatever you call it. I used the Pittsburgh one, cost about 140 from ebay. Click http://www.ebay.com/itm/1-TON-Engine-Motor-Hoist-Cherry-Picker-Shop-Crane-Lift-Foldable-New-/141400445925?hash=item20ec1f93e5&item=141400445925&pt=Motors_Automotive_Tools&vxp=mtr to purchase
O2 sensor socket
Pry Bar
Oil Filter wrench
Pliars
Adjustable wrench
Sockets and Wrenches (as many sizes as possible)
Hammer
Torque Wrench