Notices
09+ Lancer Ralliart General Discuss any generalized technical factory turbocharged Ralliart related topics that may not fit into the other forums.

Potential 2010 Ralliart? Engine code P0017

Old Apr 17, 2019, 05:15 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Potential 2010 Ralliart? Engine code P0017

Hey all! I'm new to the Ralliart community and this is my first forum post on here. I'm looking into a 2010 Ralliart with about 80k miles to purchase. The trans was upgraded by Jacks Transmissions in CO, and about $6k was put into that job by the previous owner. He has the service records for that, but nothing else on the car. He said the work was done due to an issue with one of the shift forks. Carfax is clean, and I was ready to schedule a test drive until he told me the car has a check engine light. The code that comes back is P0017, which after a little research comes back as a camshaft sensor. According to the owner, this light has been on for 2.5 years, since he purchased the car. He says the timing chain has been checked, the oil control valve was replaced, and he has swapped sensors, all to no avail. This car is the perfect bargain and seems to have the catastrophic failures pre-fixed for me. Should I stay away from this car, or try to get it? I'm in a diff state so i'd have to get the code cleared for inspection, because according to a used car salesman friend, you can't get a vehicle inspected with a check engine light. Any feedback is appreciated, thanks in advance!
Old Apr 23, 2019, 12:18 PM
Evolved Member

Received 89 Likes on 86 Posts
Get the owner to take it to the dealer if they are unable to fix it, and eat that cost from the asking price, if not then low ball em'.