Notices
ECU Flash

ecu flashing?.. new to it.. who did it results ?? who did your reflash??

Search this Thread

Old Jul 8, 2009, 09:40 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
ecu flashing?.. new to it.. who did it results ?? who did your reflash??

ecu flashing?.. im new to it.. anyone who did it.. what are your results ?? who did your reflash?? what kind of gaimes can i expect? im running a tbe and the injen i/c pipe intake setup .. any ideas?
Old Jul 8, 2009, 09:46 AM

oh and for people who are going to get mad i did a search and came up with nothing answering my questions..
and even though im new to evos im not new to 4g63s and cars therefor im not posting this in the newbie thread because everyone who answers people there talk to me like im a moron when they dont even know what there talking about.. i guess people who are not smart when it comes to cars go to the newb forums to feel important ..but anyway.. just wanted to get that out there
Old Jul 8, 2009, 10:34 AM
Evolved Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
There is so much info in this sub-forum that it can seem daunting to even start. I suggest, start slowly and simply.

You will need:
1. Laptop
2. Tactrix cable
3. ECUflach
4. And logging software at some point.

Once you have the laptop and ECU communicating via your Tactrix cable, simply download your present tune and save it in a safe place.

Get familiar with all of the parameters that ECUflash can address. Start by raising (or lowering as I did) the rev limiter. Very easy to do. You can't break anything.

I'd suggest your first 'free' mod be the CEL flash on knock, sometimes called the 'knock light'. Very handy. Not a replacement for a wide-band by any means, but it will allow you to make some adjustments to your tune w/o worry of blowing up your motor.

Next you want to lean how to log your ECU. Adjusting you ECU goes hand in hand with logging your ECU. Make a change. See the result. Repeat. Very simple.