Notices
Evo Dyno Tuning / Results Discuss vendor and member dyno tuning techniques, results and graphs.

No tuners around - ECU flash?

Search this Thread

Old Jan 5, 2019, 08:15 AM
Evolving Member

Received 42 Likes on 25 Posts
Question No tuners around - ECU flash?

Before I start, yes I am a noob with regards to moding my Evo engine, and I have been searching and reading the forums to try to answer these questions but it has still resulted in the need to start this post. I am very capable with a soldering iron (IT Professional) but I do not have experience with tuning an engine. I apologize if I get long winded as I am a detail oriented person.

Car = Stock 2005 Evo 8 with exception of Koyo radiator and ETS 3.5" FMIC that is in route to replace busted OEM. (Due to accident and insurance not covering these OEM parts)
Desire = Daily driver. I don't want to not loose performance but maybe get a little more fun factor out of my car without stressing anything or shortening its' life and get back loss of possible power because of FMIC change.
Summary = No tuning shop nearby so maybe ECU flash? (see below)

After getting the ETS ordered I have read up on the forums and realize that I may be creating some turbo lag and loss of performance due to the larger core FMIC so I have been reading to see what I might be able to do to gain some HP back. Unfortunately, I cannot find a legit import performance shop in Little Rock AR that can do a real AWD dyno tune which from what I read would be a great way to go. The only thing else I have been seeing is maybe I can find someone who could put together an ECU map and send it to me and I flash my car? I do not have the experience to read the values of a scan and tune a car myself but I can run software/hardware.

Assuming I can still find the parts, I think the following post would take care of how I flash my car as I would be using an OpenPort 2.0 (if I can find one) and ecuflash.