Notices
Evo Engine / Turbo / Drivetrain Everything from engine management to the best clutch and flywheel.

Streetable Power

Search this Thread

Old Oct 26, 2003, 06:00 PM
Evolving Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Streetable Power

I am not new to modifying cars in general, and imports in particular, but I am new to turbo'd cars and know that the tuning and modification paths for these cars are a lot different than a N/A car (which is where my experience base lay).

My question is this. Give A/F Tuning ability, am I better off to attack the intake or exasut side of things first. Please understand I am looking for the comments on which route you would suggest, as well as why it outweighs the other options.

My EVO is a daily driver, that is also occasionally used by my wife, or used by me to haul around our 2 year old. That being said, exaust mods that greatly increase volume are not desirable since Nathan sits back there near the noisy end.

I know that exaust mods can be done that will not increase volume to an unaceptable level, but do they generate more streetable power per $$ than new intake piping, BOV, Intercooler, and intercooler piping.

I will admit I am new to the turbo arena, and am just looking for opinions from some of you with more 4g63 turbo experience.

Thank you for your time,
Scott
Old Oct 26, 2003, 06:03 PM

exhaust mods will help the turbo spool up faster. it should also free some hp in the high rpms. if you get an exhaust with a resonator and muffler it probably should be fine for your child.
Old Oct 26, 2003, 06:16 PM

Location: right now in the philippines but i should be back stateside early next year
yeah the first step you should go is the intake and the exhuast or visa versa.
Old Oct 26, 2003, 06:42 PM
Evolving Member

Originally posted by ritchwell
yeah the first step you should go is the intake and the exhuast or visa versa.