Notices
Evo Engine / Turbo / Drivetrain Everything from engine management to the best clutch and flywheel.

Engine Teardown *PICS*

Search this Thread

Old Apr 17, 2010, 12:21 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Engine Teardown *PICS*

So before I start this motor is in my DSM not an Evo. I just thought you guys would give me some good input and help out.
Okay, so today me and a buddy pulled apart the motor of my 2g auto. This is my first time tearing apart the motor. I was planning on building/ porting my head and leaving the stock bottom end on the car. There is a couple of issues we came across. I found that I have coolant in the oil. The headgasket had no cracks or splits. Could it possibly have lifted? I also found a small curled up piece of metal on the oil pump pick up (pics below). It was only one piece and there was nothing else visible in the engine, which is currently assembled. Im going to talk to the machinist Monday, but I was wondering do I need to resurface my block if I am going to run a MLS. I know alot of people that have and havent, so I thought I would ask If so, what headgasket can I run if I do not resurface it. Also, should I just stop f***ing around and build a 6 bolt block rather than my stock 7bolt block? I currently want to leave the stock block to see how far I can push it before I build another one. Let me know what you guys think.
Sorry about the pics, the flash wasn't working correctly when I took them.

Block pics.

Piece of metal shaving.

Old Apr 17, 2010, 02:04 PM
Evolving Member

Your cylinder walls are immaculate! How many miles were on it? I'd pull the caps and check all the bearings, if those are good then yea, go for it. I think you can run the SCE ICS Titan gasket without decking the block, but don't quote me on that, I'm just going off MAPerformance's website. Naturally swap in studs if you haven't already.