Notices
Evo Engine / Turbo / Drivetrain Everything from engine management to the best clutch and flywheel.

My evo viii build new to evo world

Search this Thread

Old Jan 21, 2014, 06:04 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My evo viii build new to evo world

Hey fellow evolutionm members, I am undertaking an build on my evo viii and would like your input. I am new to the evo world, more familiar with Hondas. I have an 03 evo viii that has stock long lock but a ams gt850r turbo kit and 3 inch ams exhaust. I have been buying parts over past two weeks currently have purchased :
jun 272 cams (purchased from Ross sport)
supertech 95lb seat pressure dual springs and titanium retainers
Hks cam gears and hks timing belt
Ams f1 intake manifold (should receive it mid February as it is on back order)
FIC 2150 high z injectors and resistor box delete plug
Boomba 75mm throttle body

My next purchase is an ams 2.3 stroker kit, ams race balance shaft delete, ams ems, and either a 4piston ported head or buschur racing stage 3 ported head (would like the 4piston because they did excellent job on my Hondas, but depending on when they make their evo viii head available for purchase will determine which one I get). My cars current clutch is act stage 3 rated up to 725 torque. Any necessary upgrades I am missing for reliability when using these parts? Any input on parts selection, every piece I have received so far seems to be excellent quality especially the jun cams. Car will be tuned by John Kerr at innovative motorworks, was going to go Ivey tune , but Kerr has tuned several of my past cars and has been nothing but exceptional. Thanks guys for the input as I am a noob to evo's.
Old Jan 21, 2014, 06:08 PM

Forgot to add that will also be using a fluidampr harmonic balancer, arp L19 head studs, and stroker kit contents are: Manley crankshaft, Manley I beam rods, je spec pistons, arp mains, with compression at 9.0:1
Old Jan 21, 2014, 06:44 PM
Evolved Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts