Notices
Evo Engine / Turbo / Drivetrain Everything from engine management to the best clutch and flywheel.

EVO 2 CE9A Bolt on Turbo Help

Search this Thread

Old Jun 20, 2019, 10:49 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
EVO 2 CE9A Bolt on Turbo Help

So I'm new to the Mitsubishi Evolution World. I just recently Picked up an Evo 2 here in the States and Blew my Turbo this week. Was hoping someone could help me with ideas for bolt on turbos similar to stock power or one that I could run without upgrading a bunch of internals.

I'm Currently Looking at the "ARMS M7960 TURBO KIT 4G63 EVO 4-9 BY TOMEI"
But was wondering what may be needed to bolt on to an evo 1-3. Or what the difference is.

Also the power I am looking for is something reliable to daily drive. Nothing Crazy. 300- low 300's

Thanks for the help / Info in advance. Hope this is the correct place on the forums to post this.
Old Jun 21, 2019, 05:45 AM
Evolved Member

Received 40 Likes on 29 Posts
The 68HTA would be good. It will easily make 300HP at lower boost levels and you could up the boost down the road if you ever decide you want more power (400HP)

http://www.forcedperformance.net/fp-68hta-for-dsm.html
Old Jun 21, 2019, 06:38 AM
Evolved Member

Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts
Low 300's? You have an Evo II so it has a TD05-16G (small) 345-365hp @ 22 psi. Stay stock turbo and do supporting mods, your car will be a rocket.

Be sure to get a proper 02 Eliminator down pipe or you will have boost creep, Port the hell out of your hot side as well. th16G is a killer factory turbo with unmatched spoolup and reliability.

Turbo should be your last mod.
Old Jun 21, 2019, 09:02 AM
EvoM Guru

Received 1,543 Likes on 1,322 Posts
Originally Posted by High_PSI
Low 300's? You have an Evo II so it has a TD05-16G (small) 345-365hp @ 22 psi. Stay stock turbo and do supporting mods, your car will be a rocket.