Notices
Evo General Discuss any generalized technical Evo related topics that may not fit into the other forums. Please do not post tech and rumor threads here.
Sponsored by: RavSpec - JDM Wheels Central

Mits is Turnin Into a Freakin Joke with Warranty

Search this Thread

Old Sep 3, 2003, 02:40 PM
Evolving Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Angry Mits is Turnin Into a Freakin Joke with Warranty

Please allow me to vent...

I have 2700 miles on my car now and it has seen a total of 3 runs down the drag strip, none of which involved high clutch drops. This week the car started grinding as I would shift it into 5th gear so I take it up to the dealer today. Let me add real quick that I am no certified mechanic but I know enough to know that the problem is obviously a bad 5th gear synchro. That said...when I get it to the dealer this morning, they tell me that I have to wait for the district rep to come drive the car. I wasn't happy with this but agreed because I am easy to please up to a point.

Well they FINALLY call me back at 4:30 this afternoon to tell me that they have to do what is called a "tear down" to find out if the car has been raced. So I asked what in the world would indicate to them that the car has been raced and they said they would look at the clutch and see if it was blue from heat. So I again asked what the hell a blue clutch had to do with a syncrho going out and I get a bunch of, "umm...derr...ummm...duh" on the other end. For one thing it is the damn factory clutch and another is that a car not shifting into ONE gear has little to do with the clutch, if anything at all.

Due to the Magnuson Warranty ACt a dealer cannot void the warranty of any car unless they can directly prove abuse or modification is the sole purpose for whatever problem the car is having. Even if they honor the claim at this point, it isn't going to make me happy because I do not want to go through this everytime I need something fixed on my BRAND NEW car.