Notices
Evo General Discuss any generalized technical Evo related topics that may not fit into the other forums. Please do not post tech and rumor threads here.
Sponsored by: RavSpec - JDM Wheels Central

Starter problems! Please help :/

Search this Thread

Old Dec 28, 2011, 09:53 PM
Evolving Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy Starter problems! Please help :/

Background : about a month ago I replaced my intercooler/licp setup to a buschur. The buschur included a j pipe so I had to take off my starter to access it better. Being a newb I accidentally touched the pipe to the starter and a spark came off, so I disconnected the battery and the rest of the install went fine. Drove around for about a week until I got a tune, no problems at all.

Day of tune: Starter completely failed and I was told to order a new starter. So the shop put the new mitsubishi starter on and it was fine.

After about a week of no problems after the new starter was in, all of a sudden my starter goes out again. Before it goes out, its like the car cranks in slow motion but doesn't actually start and then every other time after that I get absolutely nothing.

Took it to the dealership and they said everything checked out fine and car was randomly cranking and startingfine (good starter, good battery).

Now today: Car has been starting fine until today I go to crank it and same problem happens. Slow motion crank, and then nothing.

Anybody have any ideas on what it could be? Is their a fuse for the starter? Possible loose connection? This is my only car and it is frustrating

Thank you for any advice
Old Dec 28, 2011, 09:59 PM
Evolved Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Connection to battery good? Cable nice and tight?
Check connections to starter as well.
Old Dec 28, 2011, 10:28 PM
Evolving Member

Cable is nice and tight connections are good from what I can see. Also my clock light is super dim with the ignition turned on the accessory mode and my stereo doesn't come on