Notices
Evo General Discuss any generalized technical Evo related topics that may not fit into the other forums. Please do not post tech and rumor threads here.
Sponsored by: RavSpec - JDM Wheels Central

03 evo 4g63 testdrive questions and what should I be paying

Search this Thread

Old Mar 20, 2015, 09:04 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
03 evo 4g63 testdrive questions and what should I be paying

I just test drove this 2003 evo that I'm considering buying. I'd never driven an evo before so I have no experience to compare to which isn't good.

Backing up started out jerky, because I really had to hit the gas or it else I'd stall out which I ended up doing. Other cars including the Civic I own, I don't have to give as much gas to make it go in Reverse and 1st gear smooth. It has an ACT racing clutch installed, hard to press down. Can you think of any bad reason I might have to hit the gas so much more to balance out the clutch?

When idling, I heard the engine reving about every other second by itself. The sound as if I were tapping the gas pedal. The owner said that's because it has Brian Crowler stage 2 cams. Should this be happening? Is there a way to have these aftermarket cams installed without the rough idle?

The 4g63 engine was taken from a 2005 evo 8 which he said had 60k on it. Everything else has 86k. How much should I be paying for this car and what are other things I should check for while test driving or underneath the hood that is typical to check for on these cars?

Old Mar 20, 2015, 09:14 AM
Evolved Member

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
stage 2 cams are lopey on non mivec engines, i removed mine cuz it was annoying.
the act clutch is aggressive and if its ur first time driving it on an evo it takes some getting used to. i would ask for the papers showing the mileage of that motor to be able to pay close to what he's asking. btw what is he asking?