Notices
Evo General Discuss any generalized technical Evo related topics that may not fit into the other forums. Please do not post tech and rumor threads here.
Sponsored by: RavSpec - JDM Wheels Central

New to evo's

Search this Thread

Old Aug 8, 2015, 06:50 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New to evo's

I'm a soon-to-be college student, and a car enthusiast. I've been tossing around the idea of getting an evo 8, but i'm not sure what to look for. I don't see many around my area (tri-state, Indiana, Michigan, and Ohio) and i'm not quite sure how to find one that hasn't had the **** beat out of it. Any tips? Also, are there any good shops in the area (Fort Wayne preferably) that know their way around an evo? Thanks for the help
Old Aug 8, 2015, 08:21 PM
EvoM Guru

Received 101 Likes on 50 Posts
Soon to be college student? Unless you are independently wealthy... don't do it.
Old Aug 8, 2015, 08:50 PM

I have enough money to afford it, trust me. Not asking for financial advice here, just car advice.
Old Aug 8, 2015, 10:30 PM

I was in the same position as you a few months ago. The most important thing you need to know is that there will always be another Evo. If you're not confident in the one you're looking at, don't hesitate to let that one go and continue the search. There's a lot of good information on here regarding what specific things to look for when buying a used Evo, use it to your advantage. Paying a mechanic or person who knows what they're dealing with is definitely worth it, even more so for getting a compression/leak down test. Also, browse the classifieds on here for Evos for sale, regardless if its 1,000 miles away. Having a general idea of what's out there is definitely helpful (don't be afraid to travel across states for the perfect one!). Good luck with the hunt!
Old Aug 18, 2015, 04:08 PM