Notices
Evo Show / Shine Post your pictures, photoshops, and videos!

A Bang for the Buck Car Washing Routine?

Search this Thread

Old Sep 9, 2003, 06:25 PM
Evolving Member

Received 14 Likes on 14 Posts
A Bang for the Buck Car Washing Routine?

This is my first car that's worth the time to wash myself. So, I'm a little new to the ritual of washing the car on the weekend. Basically, I have little patience to clean anything (except for myself and dishes!), so I'm looking for a decent routine to wash (and wax sometimes) in hopefully less than an hour? I have had the car for about a month and a half and haven't washed it yet (except for cleaning the wheels with Black Magic wheel cleaner).

Does anyone have any recomendations in terms of products and a routine??
Old Sep 9, 2003, 06:38 PM
Evolving Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
i use the meguiars crystal system stuff. its in a pink bottle. It works just about like any other car wash would. Make sure you use microfiber and Terry cloth towels ONLY on your car. Don't try to dry it with shop-cloths (like sooooo many people seem to like to do...). Also make sure the lather is rich, so that debris will be lifted away from the paint when you rinse rather than drag it along. Other than that, just wash it like you think it should be washed. Make sure you're thorough with your sponge (or wash mitt. I prefer the mitt...). Theres nothing more annoying than rinsing off your car to find a big streak of dirt on your door or something that you accidentally didn't scrub.
Old Sep 9, 2003, 07:12 PM
Evolving Member

You only really need a few things to keep your car's exterior in great condition. Of course you need a few materials to wash the car like car shampoo (Meguiar's is easy to find and good), a high pressure nozzle for your hose, and something to dry the car with.