Notices
Evo X Engine / Turbo / Drivetrain Everything from engine builds to the best clutch and flywheel.

Practical to upgrade only your rods?

Search this Thread

Old Dec 8, 2010, 07:22 PM
Evolving Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Practical to upgrade only your rods?

I'm always trying to think of cheaper ways to make my engine more reliable. Ive heard about piston clearances being tight with the evo x which causes problems especially if the tune is off, but what about just upgrading your rods? That seems to be the most common engine failure. The cost of labor would be cheaper, where you would pull the piston/rod out from underneath the car (wouldnt have to pull the head) and you wouldnt have to machine the cylinder walls, considering each piston will be going back into its corresponding cylinder. Although would you have to pull the crank out to get the piston out with rod attached? And is that even possible with the block being left inside the engine bay?

I'm no mechanic, and to many this very question would make that very evident. But can someone please explain the downfalls in doing this?
Old Dec 9, 2010, 02:52 AM
Evolving Member

It's possible but you would have the pull the head and slide the pistons out from the top. You wouldn't need to pull the crank. It would be better of to upgrade the pistons while your at it
Old Dec 9, 2010, 09:18 AM
Evolved Member