Notices
Evo X General Discuss any generalized technical Evo X related topics that may not fit into the other forums.

Help plss. I'm a newbie

Search this Thread

Old May 11, 2016, 08:01 AM
Evolved Member

Received 13 Likes on 13 Posts
Originally Posted by nemsin
IMO that 850+hp AMS package is overpriced. Plus it doesn't upgrade the transfercase, transmission, or rear diff. Turn key reliability my ***. Have fun blowing up your drivetrain
lol.

The problem with this comment is the implication that there is a reliable setup in existance. The GSR 5-speed has proven to handle those high hp levels just fine. The t-case is more a failure dependent on the driver, not the power. Don't launch the car and you'll be fine.

The rear diff will hold you back if taking aggressive corners. However most people who go for stupid high HP levels are not the type that drive aggressively in any direction but straight forward, so usually isn't an issue.

I have yet to see many evo x engine build cars with owners who are satisfied and stick around. Most people get fed up, most cars continue to have issues. The AMS kit is one of the few kits that gives you the best possibility of having a product that works. Rest of the drivetrain is up to you to sort out, doesn't mean what they are providing you isn't the most reliable solution.
The following users liked this post:
Lightsaber (May 24, 2017)
Old May 11, 2016, 08:26 AM
Evolved Member

Received 50 Likes on 46 Posts
Originally Posted by ddawg1130
Don't launch the car and you'll be fine.
"In terms of application, the AMS TCX Package is simply a great all-around performance package for any EVO X enthusiast who plans to focus mostly on Drag Racing." https://www.amsperformance.com/cart/...x_package.html

So pay AMS $26K+tax for their 850+hp turnkey drag strip build, then go to the track and break your drivetrain on the 1st day. Sounds pro to me.

Last edited by nemsin; May 11, 2016 at 09:29 AM.
Old May 11, 2016, 04:38 PM
Evolved Member