Notices
Evo X General Discuss any generalized technical Evo X related topics that may not fit into the other forums.

XSPower D3400R battery

Search this Thread

Old Jul 3, 2018, 07:39 AM

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
XSPower D3400R battery

So my battery completely drained two months ago and would not hold a charge at all. It was the OEM battery in my '14. I just got the car in January but kept it in storage for several months. It's my first time getting into an Evo so jumped into the forums to see a replacement. Besides the OEM battery with the vent provision, everyone was recommending the Optima RedTop, group 35. Specs looked good, but when compared to the same one in a group 34, I don't know why people didnt use that instead as it is a stronger battery and it would fit into the stock location. I am guessing it was because the size 34 batteries are larger and weigh more. My car is solely a DD so I definitely wanted something a robust battery, not really caring about weight reduction. This is where I started comparing Group 34 batteries. I was also reading that the Optima's arent as good as they used to be from say 10yrs ago as they moved the manufacturing to Mexico and the quality isnt the same.

I compared several different companies Optima Red/Yellow, Bosch, Autocraft, Odyssey, etc. I wanted good CCA/CA as well as deep-cycle properties and of course, had to be an AGM. Finally narrowed it down to two batteries: XS Power or Northstar. Both had STELLAR specs:

Northstar:
Product NameNSB-AGM-34
BCI Group Number34
Height with Terminal: 7.76 in
Width: 6.73 in
Length: 10.9 in
Weight:50 lbs
Terminal Configuration: SAE
Pulse Cranking Amps: 1,500 A
CA/MCA at 32°F": 1,050 A
CCA at 0°F: 880 A
CCA at -20°F: 585 A
Reserve Capacity: 133 min
Capacity 20 Hour Rate 64 Ah
Capacity 10 Hour Rate 61 Ah
Internal Resistance: 3.6 mΩ
Short Circuit Current: 3,100 A
Warranty: 4 years full

http://gpcaraudio.com/northstar-agm34/

XSPower D3400:DESCRIPTION