Notices
Evo X How Tos / Installations Post or link to your detailed how to / installation articles in here. If you have any questions regarding the how tos, feel free to post them in the Request sub-forum.

Making my own gauge cluster pods

Search this Thread

Old Aug 13, 2017, 10:24 PM

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Making my own gauge cluster pods

I picked up an AEM wideband and boost gauge and need a place to put them. There is no way I was going to wait 9 weeks for the Ortiz cluster so I decided to try and tackle this project myself since I had some time over the week. I looked around places to get ideas of how people make custom gauge pods and I found one that seemed to be pretty interesting and looked great here

http://www.ls1gto.com/forums/showthread.php?t=404348

And before anyone criticizes, I must warn everyone that I have no experience with doing anything like this or have the know how of what I really need to do or use to get the best results. But so far of having this done for the past several days, I have had no issues and has been holding up really strong before I painted anything. I even tested by trying to put a decent amount of force or pressure on it to see if it would break easily as well and no issues. Since it will just be sitting there, I'm sure it'll be fine.

So anyways, I went and picked up a pair of 45 degree angled 2" pvc pipes because I couldn't find the 90 degree ones. Anyways, here is a pic of the pipe that I picked up, but honestly, I could probably just use a straight 2" pvc, but I'll get into that part later.

Don't mind the markings. I made these so I can see where I would need to make the cuts rather than making guesses. The lines were mainly used for guideline and the scribble is the section I ended up cutting. Later on, I find that all my markings was really for nothing. lol. The pods are just not big enough to make them look "good" like the other link. So here is how they turned out when I cut them down as a temp size and shape.