Notices
Lancer General Come on in and discuss the US Lancer.

2008/09 HID question for the lancers

Search this Thread

Old Feb 9, 2009, 07:05 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2008/09 HID question for the lancers

sorry i'm a noob to this

how do the HIDs work for our lancers..
i hear we need an anti flicker??
what is the purpose of this??

as well if we get HIDs with the anti flicker do you have to cut any wires or anything ..or rewire your DRL to your fogs..i've heard of some people doing that.

one more question...if you get HIDs..is it just like regular lights with the lancer that you just flip the knob on our cars to turn them on and off??

sorry for all the questions..thanks
Old Feb 9, 2009, 07:24 PM
Evolved Member

The hid's and anti-flicker are plug and play. You only have to cut wires if u are rewiring to bypass the drl but if u have the AF u don't need to. They work like u're normal lights but if u have the anti-flicker, u're hid's will always be on even in the off position. The purpose of the anti-flicker is to stop the hid's from flickering because of the drl.
Old Feb 10, 2009, 03:37 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
If you're looking for some nice HIDs with a DRL flicker eliminater, give Curt@MrLed a private message, he sells some nice HIDs and he's a cool guy that'll help you with any questions. I Have his HIDs in my car with his eliminator, and it's easy to install. I have a writeup made for the elminiator too so it's very easy to install. I'll post it in the How To section as soon as i get the chance.

basically it's as Brad said, your lights will ALWAYS been on, which isn't a problem at all---you turn your car on, and the lights turn on----you still have to turn the fogs on manually, so really nothing different. The eliminator stops the candles from failing to ignite, and it stops them from strobing when they turn on. That's common with any car with daylight running lights (DRLs)