Notices
Lancer How To Requests / Questions / Tips If you have any questions, post them in here.

ES Performance Upgrades??

Search this Thread

Old Jun 22, 2011, 01:00 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
ES Performance Upgrades??

Just want to start things off by saying that I am pretty new to this whole thing, so if I ask some stupid questions, please be gentle, ha ha. Anyways, I recently purchased an 09 Lancer ES. The dealer told me that many of the parts that go on the other Lancers (DE & GTS) are pretty much interchangeable between the three. After doing some research though and talking with a few of my buddies, I found out this is not entirely true. So here is my question(s): what sort of performance parts/ upgrades are available for my car? And if so, are they even worth spending the money on, or should I just sell and go with something different? Thanks for the help.
Old Jun 22, 2011, 05:58 PM
Evolving Member

All the basic upgrades are available. You can start with an intake, exhaust, lightweight pulley, etc. If you want move on, new headers, maybe some suspension work, ECU tune/flash, sprintbooster, etc. However, none of this is really going to give you worthwhile gains. I advise only buying this crap if you've got extra money to blow, want your car to at least sound fast, or just enjoy tuning.

Since you're new to this I don't recommend going turbo, which is pretty much the only way you're going to see hp gains. If you have CVT you pretty much can't safely turbo your car. If you have MT you can run low boost. Of course going turbo is also a pricey upgrade and in the end your car is faster, but still not very fast lol.

This car is basically a low mounted glass ceiling. If you're looking for a decent car to tune I suggest you sell.
Old Jun 27, 2011, 02:32 PM

RRM v2 intake is the 1 st mod i would suggest
Old Jul 19, 2011, 06:32 PM

Originally Posted by Panis