Notices
Lancer How To Requests / Questions / Tips If you have any questions, post them in here.

03 Lancer ES or OZ Rally, First Car?

Search this Thread

Old Sep 25, 2011, 08:06 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
03 Lancer ES or OZ Rally, First Car?

So I was thinking about getting a 03 Lancer ES or OZ Rally for my first car. My question is would this be a good first car considering I find someone who's selling a good one? Does it put out enough power to go a little faster than the normal speed limits? How's the gas mileage? How reliable is it? Are parts expensive for it, is it easy to fix/upgrade for a newbie?

Looking for a daily car by the way, that I can put a few mods into to make it a little better than the average daily car. And look better at well.

I'm a noob when it comes to cars so I wouldn't know much about em, but I'm trying to learn.

Thanks

Last edited by Tekknian; Sep 25, 2011 at 09:19 PM.
Old Sep 25, 2011, 08:46 PM
Evolved Member

So far, I like my lancer. I have an 03 OZ. I bought it new, enjoyed it for about 7 years, then turbo'd it because it wasn't as fast as I wanted it to be. Stock it's about 95 whp, basic mods, about 110whp, turbo 150 at 6psi, maybe 200 at 10psi. For comparison sake, at 6psi I'm fine if I need to pass someone to get up on the onramp, even a nice 3 series bmw or something. Some of the other guys have no problem passing up a mustang gt with 12+psi.

Reliable...pretty good. Gas millage, pretty good...30mpg or so, 32 on the highway. Parts don't seem too expensive, general standard cost as far as like, things I've done have all been reasonable. I buy mostly oem parts, because autozone and those type seem to carry crap most of the time, but you know...check like mitsubishi parts dot come or whatever and pick a random thing and see the cost.