Notices
Motor Sports If you like rallying, road racing, autoxing, or track events, then this is the spot for you.

2nd Porsche DE Day (Longish)

Search this Thread

Old Aug 16, 2005, 08:01 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2nd Porsche DE Day (Longish)

There's a lot of posts about people's first DE experiences, but not too many about people's second experience. Hopefully someone finds this interesting, or gets inspired to give a DE a try.

My first DE was with Porsche Club as a complete novice (Run Group 1), and the second was also with PCA in Run Group 2, this time without an instructor. Both were at Mid America Motorplex.

Saturday started out rainy. First turn of first lap in the rain I almost spun the Evo. Okay, settle down... Still driving really conservative and last lap almost spin it right in front of a corner worker station going onto a long straight. Talked to my instructor from the 1st DE and he asks me "Are you braking into the corner?" "Nope." "Are you on the gas in the corner?" "Uhhh.. I'm pussing out and kinda coasting in." "There's your problem." He was right, I had too much weight on the front, and with the wet, slick track, it really amplified any mistakes in weight distribution.

Run two was even wetter, now with standing puddles, and I was passing some of my group. Couple of squirrely moments, but much better than first time out.

Run three was about the same track conditions as run two, and I was faster and starting to kick everyone's butt. This is on 2-year old Advans with very little tread left.

The heroics wouldn't last though.

The rain stopped and the track dried out for the last run of the day. It was the worst session I've ever had. I was making mistakes everywhere. I couldn't stay on line. No confidence in the car. Pushed harder, and just ended up scaring myself. Went home pretty discouraged.