Notices
Motor Sports If you like rallying, road racing, autoxing, or track events, then this is the spot for you.

Why is it that the majority of evo owners running harnesses DON'T have a rollbar????

Search this Thread

Old Nov 9, 2006, 07:59 PM
Evolved Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Why is it that the majority of evo owners running harnesses DON'T have a rollbar????

Alright.....I have been doing HPDE in my race car for three years now and even on Honda forums (race car is ITR) it is common knowledge that it is HIGHLY unsafe to run harnesses and/or fixed back seats without ROLLOVER protection.....so why is it that so many of you just run harness bars??? Or run harnesses to the back seat???

Technically these setups shouldn't even pass tech....in event of a bad rollover the whole roof can collapse without a rollbar. And with anyone strapped into the seat they could get their head crushed.

So I am wondering why so many evo owners that say they track the car all the time are running such unsafe safety setups????

I realize that most of you don't want to run and turn your five seater into a two seater, but at what point do you realize that safety always comes first and that neglecting it will eventually cause injury or death. I know there are alot of self professed hotshoes in here and I am just curious. There are always a few people that die every year during HPDE due to rollovers without protection.

So I urge you for the safety of you and your instructor/passengers to read up on how a harness/rollbar or cage WORK TOGETHER.

-Running harnesses w/o rollover protection is unsafe
-running fixed back seats and harnesses w/o rollover protection is unsafe

So if you MUST run harnesses, the best way to go is to have a rollbar (4pt if it is a street car) w/ an integrated harnessbar connected to the main hoop.

Be safe guys. I hope this post can educate some people about what is safe and what is not.

THIS IS DEFINITELY NOT SAFE!!!

Have SAFE fun guys.