Notices
Motor Sports If you like rallying, road racing, autoxing, or track events, then this is the spot for you.

PCA Chuckwalla Valley Raceway 10-30-10 Report

Search this Thread

Old Nov 1, 2010, 07:13 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
PCA Chuckwalla Valley Raceway 10-30-10 Report

Hello!

I attended my first track day with my Evo on Saturday October 30, 2010 at Chuckwalla Valley Raceway (CVR for short). It was my first time both in the Evo and at that track. As some of you may know, CVR was opened in April 2010 and offers massive runoff areas, some elevation changes and a banked "bowl" turn. We ran it counter-clockwise on Saturday which is a somewhat harder direction as there are a couple of blind corners, one of which is dramatically off camber.

Usually I run events with BMW CCA as an A+ (advanced plus) student. I have been doing track events since 2003 and auto-x since 1987. This was my first time out with PCA. They are a nice group of guys who show up at the track with some very expensive and well prepared cars. Their rules are a bit more loose than BMW CCA and as a result there were a lot of agricultural excursions.

To prepare for the event I changed to Hawk HT-10 pads, ATE Super Blue, Cobb AP and removed the clutch pill. I also got an alignment from West End Alignment in Gardena, CA. They put in 1.75 neg camber in front with 0 toe. Rear is about 1 degree negative camber with 1/32 toe in.

So about this Evo...um...I freakin' LOVE this car on the track. What an unbelievable experience!!! It just does everything right. Turn-in was sharp and precise, mid-corner attitude was easily controllable with the throttle, very neutral, and exits were fast and clean. While there is significant body roll, it never seemed to disrupt the suspension taking a good set. I probably won't change the suspension as the car is my DD 98% of the time and works well as-is.