Notices
Motor Sports If you like rallying, road racing, autoxing, or track events, then this is the spot for you.

Logging wheel speeds

Search this Thread

Old Dec 20, 2020, 04:24 AM
Evolved Member

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
Logging wheel speeds

Hello Everyone,

I've done lots of research and haven't found a solution. I figured it might be time to post on here.

The primary goal here is to capture and log individual wheel speeds using the existing sensors.

Two ways this can be accomplished.
  1. Pulling a physically signal/voltage off each component
  2. Reading the CAN protocol off the ABS or ACD unit. (over my head, but most ideal if someone has done it)
Basic background to what I've already uncovered.

The ACD can be setup in two different ways. This focus will be with ABS unit.

The ABS sensors are feed into the ABS ECU and the ABS ECU sends a 2.2v Hall signal to the ACD ECU. (per my research)

Since I'm not a electronics expert, I didn't want to just tap into the wires and see what happens.
I'm just not sure if splicing into these wires (Like TPS signal) will cause issue. (burn up an ECU input or cause an incorrect signal)?
I'm also not sure if this would be considered a digital signal or an analog signal? Has anyone on here had any ideas?

Old Dec 20, 2020, 09:45 AM
EvoM Guru

Received 725 Likes on 567 Posts
Thats not quite clicking as Im scrolling through the schematic. The schematic you posted shows ABS input to ACD coming from ABS ECU Pins 18,20,21,32 with ABS Wheel Speed Sensors on Pins 6,8,22,30. But if you look in the ACD (w/o AYC) section its getting fed directly from the wheel speed sensors (and you can see the pullups and grounding done in the ECU).

Are there 2 functionally different ACD Computers with one reading some unknown signal from ABS ECU and the other processing the VR signal?