Notices

2012 RVR SE awd sound system replacement

Search this Thread

Old May 28, 2018, 12:29 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question 2012 RVR SE awd sound system replacement

Hey everyone
lurked here for a bit doing some research etc for my new car.

I have the 2012 RVR (OS) SE, with no Nav or RF sound system. Just plain stock stereo. Anyhow, if I turn it up to good "Black Sabbath" listening levels it starts distorting pretty badly, especially if I have the bass up over 2. I'm not talking ear destroying levels here, just "loud".

So I thought to replace the speakers but the speaker guy at Crutchfield had a good point in that it may actually be the radio itself distorting cause it lacks power. I see the OEM radio is rated at 140 watts. I am assuming that is peak if the sound is distorting so quickly.

I'm new to car audio stuff so I thought I'd ask here from people who own this vehicle. What is a good, basic upgrade I can do, whether it be radio or speakers, that won't blow my bank account apart, to just get some decent sound out of this, while still keeping the OEM functions (steering wheel controls, USB port in the console, etc)?

I listen to mostly classic rock/heavy metal and punk rock. I'm not wanting to shake anyone's house or anything, but I do like some impact from my tunes without fart noises I usually leave the treble alone and put the bass up to where it has some punch but not rattling the windows. For reference, I had a 2002 Ford Escape previously with the "MACH" sound system and I thought that was great. http://hillerford.com/v2/resource_library/2002/2002suv/2002escape/2002escapeaudio.html

I know I probably won't get that out of this car but anything is better than what it has now! Should I go to the wreckers and see if I can salvage a RF system out of a trashed RVR (if I can find one)?

Anyways, other than the sound system the car is great.

Thanks in advance for any help!

Last edited by csand; May 28, 2018 at 12:40 PM.
Old May 28, 2018, 05:48 PM