Notices

My brain is starting to hurt...

Search this Thread

Old Sep 24, 2010, 08:24 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My brain is starting to hurt...

I'm looking for new wheels and tires for my 09 RA, and I thought I'd take a look in that sticky "2009 Lancer Ralliart Wheels/Tires Fitment" and maybe I'm just dumb... But it confused me.. Lol, I'm not very good with cars so forgive me but help would be appreciated.
For instance:

18x9.5 +28 will = front will poke out about 1 3/4" and rears will poke little less then 1 3/4"
Inner Clearance: 14mm LESS Outer Face Position: 26mm MORE
Tires: 235/40 18 rubbing with stock height
***When Lowered [WILL RUB everywhere even when your stock heigh] SO ROLL THE ALL FENDERS!!!!!!***
***This fitment is VERY AGGRESSIVE, NEED TO rolling and flare out the rear fenders FOR SURE***

What is 18x9.5 +28, I'm assuming size but what is the +28? Also, what does "Inner Clearance: 14mm LESS Outer Face Position: 26mm MORE" mean? And what is 235/40 18 rubbing with stock height mean? And what is rolling the fenders? And what is a VERY AGGRESSIVE fitment? And is flaring the same thing as rolling?! Once again, I apologize for the stupidity.. Thanks for any help given, much love.

-Sph1nx
Old Sep 24, 2010, 09:06 AM
Evolved Member

18x 9.5 = 18inch diameter wheel with 9.5 width
+28 = +28mm Offset

Inner/Outer Clearance is the comparison with your OEM wheels
235/40/18 is the tire size..
usual on the Ralliart/Lancer, we use size from
215/45/18
225/45/18
225/40/18
235/40/18
245/40/18

Roll fender: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DDTK9IjKIYU
**but you can do in a less risky manner =P

Very aggressive fitment = flush with the fender = almost poking out..

finally Flaring is like rolling but taking to another level... (like pulling the fender wider to fit wider tires/wheels)
Old Sep 24, 2010, 11:04 AM
Account Disabled

18x9.5 + 28 is wayyyy to wide for our cars body. You would have to pull and flare like crazy and it would look silly imo.