Notices

REQUEST: Narrowband AFR Gauge Install

Search this Thread

Old Sep 15, 2009, 08:31 PM
Evolved Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question REQUEST: Narrowband AFR Gauge Install

I just want to say first off, I don't want to read posts about how dumb, stupid and "rice" it is to have a narrowband AFR gauge. I know all this. It is MUCH more productive to install a Wideband AFR gauge. This gauge will not be used to tune/test my car. I bought this gauge practically dirt cheap, and will just take up a spot on my gauge pod until I can afford to install a wideband AFR gauge. Understood. Moving on...

I've looked, searched, and RE-searched for days. I need to know how to install a narrowband AFR gauge. I'm a noob, so pictures will help. This will also benefit others down the road, to provide such a resource. If it helps, I have the "Autometer Ultra-Lite Air/Fuel Ratio Gauge."

Here are the instructions: http://www.autometer.com/productPDF/0837L.pdf

Red Wire: Connect to a fused and switched 12V positive source
that is turned on and off with the ignition switch

Black Wire: Connect to good engine ground.

Violet Wire: Connect to oxygen sensor signal wire. Connect to
vehicle wiring harness, not oxygen sensor since some oxygen
sensors use shielded wire.
Like I said, I'm a noob. I know this can be easily installed. I just don't know WHERE. A short and quick How-To could help. I was hoping to have something definite before this coming Sunday (9/20), since I will also be installing my boost gauge at the same time. I appreciate everything. I don't take this community for granted, please forgive me if I communicated otherwise.
Old Sep 15, 2009, 10:51 PM
Account Disabled

you want to use the fuse box inside the cabin (the lil panel you can open bottom left of the steering wheel) to gain your power. You can remove a fuse, put the wire in, and put the fuse over it, or buy a fuse splicer at an auto store.