Notices
E85 / Ethanol This section is dedicated to tuning with ethanol.

Correcting an E85 Tune

Search this Thread

Old Apr 10, 2010, 06:14 PM
Evolved Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Correcting an E85 Tune

I've been running E85 for almost two years now and enjoying every single minute. I originally had my EVO professionally tuned when the larger injectors were installed. However, I was not as knowledgeable then as I am now so I did not know the questions that I should have asked. As I have become more knowledgeable, I have also become more dissatisfied with the tune.

I am not writing this as a tuner bashing missive. I’m simply stating the facts and pointing out the necessity of fully understanding what is involved in a tune and knowing exactly what to insist upon, rather than to blindly accept what the tuner says and does. Especially true when you have traveled 100s of miles to get your car tuned, as opposed to local.

I just recently had a wideband installed. (Yes, I know, W/B should have been a first mod. My bad.) Now I feel ready to make the remaining corrections to my tune. I’m hoping I can count on some input from those of you who are far more knowledgeable and experienced.

My original tune had the following deficiencies (in my opinion):
1. Fuel trims: low -12.25%; mid 0.3%; high 0.1%
2. Fuel and timing maps were not re-scaled for higher load cells
3. Knocksum required for slow CEL set to 10
4. Knocksum required for fast CEL set to 20
5. Too much knock & too high knock (10+) at high RPM
6. Lean spool on

I am attempting to make the rest of these corrections:
1. Get the fuel trims within + or – 5%
2. Re-scale fuel and timing maps
3. Set knocksum required for slow CEL to 3
4. Set knocksum required for fast CEL to 6
5. Minimal knock, 1-2 random counts
6. Lean spool off