Notices
Evo Engine / Turbo / Drivetrain Everything from engine management to the best clutch and flywheel.

EVO VIII Upgrade Questions for Veteran Mitsubishi Owners

Search this Thread

Old May 30, 2003, 09:36 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
EVO VIII Upgrade Questions for Veteran Mitsubishi Owners

Hey all,

I have some questions for you. I have owned a Supra twin turbo in the past so I have some experience with turbo cars, but I just purchased a new EVO VIII so I am new to Mitsubishis. I really need some background information from some of you veteran Mitsubishi guys.

1. Here is my planned upgrade path:
2. Turbo Timer: Either HKS or Blitz
3. Intake kit: Either Buscher Racing or Millen
4. Aftermarket Blow Off Valve
5. Electronic Boost Controller: Either Greddy Profec, HKS or Apex’i
6. Apex’i SAFC
7. Turbo Down-pipe: Either Buscher Racing or Millen
8. High Flow Cat or Cat Delete Pipe: Either Buscher Racing or Millen
9. Cat Back Exhaust: Haven’t decided yet.
10. Intercooler hard-pipe kit: Either Buscher Racing or Millen
11. Header

Maybe someday……
Bigger single turbo & Bigger FMIC

First question: I would like to add an aftermarket Blow Off Valve kit to my EVO VIII. I like the HKS Super Sequential BOV, but I have read posts of people having problems with them. Is there a bolt on kit out for the US EVO that will give that signature Blow Off Valve sound , but will not cause the car to bog or die at low RPMs? I love that BOV sound and it is very intimidating on the street, but I don’t want to upset the everyday drivability of the car. Any suggestions would be very welcome.

Second question: Turbo Timer
Does anyone make a bolt in turbo timer kit for the US EVO VIII, meaning with Field’s Harness so you don’t have to cut the factory wire harness? I like the HKS and Blitz ones, but I hate to have to cut the factory wire harness on a brand new car.

Third question: Electronic Boost Controller