Notices
Evo Engine / Turbo / Drivetrain Everything from engine management to the best clutch and flywheel.

evo VIII "under load" problem

Search this Thread

Old Feb 7, 2009, 11:47 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
evo VIII "under load" problem

I have an 05 Evo VIII with a flashed ECU, HKS SSQV routed back into intake, Hallman Pro MBC, iridium plugs, custom exhaust w/o cat and some kind of aftermarket I/C.

I'm a mechanic for a living, i bought this car from another guy that did all of the mods to it, my clutch just went out, so I changed it (now it's a centerforce clutch/flywheel). And I went out of town so i had to let it sit for a while before I changed the clutch. There was a small problem before the clutch went out where the car would feel hesitant under load but for the most part seemed fine. I never could figure out what it was. Since my ecu has been flashed I don't think i can plug the analyzer into the OBDII port for a diagnostic. There is no check engine light on anyway. But now after getting back into town and replacing the clutch, today I tried to drive it, i made it about 7 miles driving fine, babying it of course because of the clutch being new. Now it revs fine when the clutch isn't engaged and there isn't a load on the engine, but when it's in gear, it doesn't go past 1500 rpm before it starts sputtering and hesitating. It only does it when it's under load. I had my boss look at it since he's been doing this for 30 + years and owned a shop for at least 14 years. He's just as lost as i am. It's not something I did in the clutch installation. I put everything back the way it was, if it was something I did in installation then it would have been like that immediately. Has anyone experienced this before? Or have an idea as to what it might be?
Old Feb 8, 2009, 08:47 AM
Evolved Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Let me know if you figure this out please.
Old Feb 8, 2009, 01:51 PM