Notices
Evo Engine / Turbo / Drivetrain Everything from engine management to the best clutch and flywheel.

Evo 4 head, 3g ECU, 4g64 GDI Galant, possible?

Search this Thread

Old Sep 27, 2016, 01:16 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Evo 4 head, 3g ECU, 4g64 GDI Galant, possible?

Hi guys! So reaching out from Sweden with a project started when my dear Galant 2.4 dohc ---GDI--- cracked its head. I liked both the driving and the design and decided to restore it. It's engine however made no lasting impressions on me... After looking around for alternatives I fell into some kind of google black hole about the 4g64/4g63t/sohc/dohc/evo/eclipse/mirage swaps and so on.

I was really intrigued since the only thing I really disliked about this Galant was its GDI-system. Which more or less makes any improvements/upgrades impossible. I'm not a novice in the garage but have never built, tuned or made modifications to an engine. But in a confused state I decided to give it a go

My plan is a 2.4l 4g64/4g63t n/a, for now at least The base I had was the 4G64 GDI-block and it's manual transmission. Both in great condition since the car only one has previous owner and not even 7000 miles on it.
I quickly came over an evo 4 4g63t head and made an impulse buy, a bargain I hope
And since neither the fuel delivery system nor the ECU seems to be of any use I had to search for my next move. My conclusions said the options for ECU either came from an evo or a 3g eclipse. Since the 3g was alot cheaper I again made a fast decision and got it.

So that is right about where we are today, day 2 of the journey of me getting in over my head. l I hope this build is even possible to start with Barely know where this is going and have no real idea what the expected end result of this might be, but that is how I learn best. With a limited budget and lack of experience I realize I this is no easy picnic and hope you guys can guide me somewhat.