Notices
Evo Engine / Turbo / Drivetrain Everything from engine management to the best clutch and flywheel.

Balance Shaft Discussion

Search this Thread

Old Apr 3, 2019, 07:19 PM
Evolved Member

Received 194 Likes on 182 Posts
Balance Shaft Discussion

Attempt #1 was a failure. Sorry about that! I'm still learning/relearning myself since I don't think about this every month.
I do want to provide good info to help people fully understand their decisions.

Here is attempt #2 to provide some solid basic knowledge. I am not a mechanical engineer, BUT I will use info provided by one. Just to start off with some basic info, let's start with primary harmonics, which means frequency is the same as RPM. Enjoy this video, he's a mechanical engineer and does a good job explaining:

Next up, secondary harmonics, which means vibrations at double the frequency of RPM.

The way I view this is the stress the crankshaft sees. Orientation is looking at engine from front right wheel. From TDC (0°) to 90° crank rotation, it is accelerating piston to max velocity (speed). From 90° to 180° (BDC) crank rotation, crank is stopping the piston from max velocity to zero. Then it repeats again on second half of crank rotation (BDC to 270° and then 270° to TDC). Every time forces change directions, it causes a vibration. Since the forces change every 90°, it changes 4 times per RPM, which is 2 full cycles (one cycle is when forces changes directions twice: up and then down to original position).

So now we know what secondary harmonics are, here is how Balance Shafts (BS) work to counter the harmonics: