Notices
Evo How Tos / Installations Post or link to your detailed how to / installation articles in here. If you have any questions regarding the how tos, feel free to post them in the Request sub-forum.

How to assemble the rear diff

Search this Thread

Old Jul 8, 2011, 01:19 AM
Evolved Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
How to assemble the rear diff

The service manual on how to take apart the rear diff can be found here. As much as it shows you how to take it apart, it doesn't really show you how to put it back in. Just shows you how to align the plates correctly and at the end of the page, gives you torque specs of a couple things. If you are still nervous taking the rear diff apart, don't be. This is my first time taking it apart and it was very easy. Putting it all back together though, was a small challenge of going backwards.

This writeup is mainly for those that want to re-arrange your plates (more info can be found here).
This writeup is also for Weir Performance Maxgrip 12 plate LSD rebuild kit. It's pretty much the same except there's an extra disc on each side.
Googled and searched around the forum for something like this and there isn't much of anything on a how to (just the service manual). Decided to write my own to help others out.

Tools:
1/2" ratchet
14mm socket (1/2 drive)
torque wrench (1/2 drive)
screwdriver, phillips head
table vice
gear oil
plastic or foam bowl/plate (actual bowls/plates would work too but I don't think you would want the taste of gear oil in your mouth whereas you can just throw the plastic/foam away)
bottles of brake cleaner
C clamps
threadlocker (like Loc-tite) High/heavy strength recommended
gasket maker
hammer (non-metal/steel hammers as you might make dents)
small piece of wood

To start off, re-arrange your plates as seen here.
(The blue thing represents the spider gear assembly, which are numbers 13,12,11,10,9 on the service manual)
Name:  IMG_2539.jpg
Views: 0
Size:  134.2 KB