Notices
Evo Show & Shine Post your pictures, photoshops, and videos!

Nikon D3100 Photo shoot

Old Jan 16, 2012, 01:18 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Nikon D3100 Photo shoot

Yesterday we did a lil photo shoot with our IX & our friend's brand new 135i.

I just got a Nikon D3100 and wanted to start messing around with some of the settings... I'm new at this so don't be too harsh :P I'm hoping to get a tripod this week so I can really start using it for what it's good for and working it in full manual mode... but regardless I am happy with how the photos came out and really happy with the camera.

We went to the car wash but the Evo still needs a good wax & hand wash.... however, it's winter and not ideal for such things, lol.

Photos have ZERO editing, these are the raw shots. Here are just a handful of 200+ photos taken.

After car wash:

Disclaimer:: these are low-res linked from facebook, not to worry, originals are very crisp and clean, lol.

Last edited by xxJazerxx; Jan 16, 2012 at 01:21 AM.
Old Jan 16, 2012, 02:27 AM
Evolving Member

I have that camera too. It's great, and can grow with you. I'm still learning how to use it.

Good pics. Some of those shots turned out really cool, others look dark though, due to the angle of the winter sun in the evening.

A tripod will definitely help, as you can get the same level of crispness you got in these pictures, and go with a much slower speed to do fun stuff.

Also, you might want to play around with a narrow depth of field instead of having all the pictures have everything in focus. The stock lens isn't adequate for that stuff. The f/1.8 or more expensive f/1.4 lens is awesome though. If you haven't already, check out http://www.kenrockwell.com/nikon/d3100.htm too, he has some really good info there about gear.
Old Jan 16, 2012, 02:38 AM

Originally Posted by digitalskillz View Post
I have that camera too. It's great, and can grow with you. I'm still learning how to use it.