Notices
Evo X Engine Management / Tuning Forums Discuss the major engine management systems.

Can't legally tune a non-race car?!

Search this Thread

Old Jul 19, 2018, 08:43 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Question Can't legally tune a non-race car?!

Hey guys,

I'm new to this tuning thing. I have a few bolt on mods that I want to do with my '15 GSR and then I intended to have it tuned by Jeff Evans of Evan's Tuning in Mt. Bethel, PA. I sent Jeff an email looking for recommendations on a shop to have a boost leak check done just to make sure I was buttoned up before having it tuned. He didn't really have any recommendations for me, which is fine, but then this portion of his email really threw me for a loop. I've done a fair amount of reading on having your car tuned, plus I've read Jeff's own website inside and out (along with their Instagram) and this reply makes absolutely no sense to me. What am I missing here? I emailed him back asking for clarification, but he takes a few days to reply. I have a few other tuning shops within a few hours of me, but Jeff seems to be highly rated and is literally in my back yard (30 minutes away) so I'd prefer to go there, but again, I'm really at a loss here. Thoughts?

Drew,

I dont know of any reputable shops left in our area that I could recommend you to. Also, I am only legally able to provide tuning services if your vehicle meets the following conditions:
  1. No vehicle registration
  2. No license plates when it arrives at our shop
  3. Must be brought on a trailer
  4. Racing sanctioned events you compete in, or have plans to compete in
  5. Pictures of the car racing if available

Also should have several of the following racing features:
  1. -Roll bar or roll cage
  2. -Parachute and/or parachute mount
  3. -Fire suppression system
  4. -Race harnesses (non DOT approved passenger restraint systems)
  5. -Race fuel (not purchased at a public fuel station)
  6. -Non DOT approved tires