Notices
Evo X Engine / Turbo / Drivetrain Everything from engine builds to the best clutch and flywheel.

High Oil Temps when Tracking

Search this Thread

Old Sep 21, 2009, 08:20 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
High Oil Temps when Tracking

after having my camp 2 installed in my evo x sst i have been monitoring my oil temps quite closely.

while tracking at the sepang f1 track in malaysia a few days ago i noticed my engine oil temps peaking at 142C/288F.

based on what i've seen from others on the forum, this temp is very high but could in part be due to the high ambient temps in my part of the world which are generally 28C+/80F+.

i'm still a newbie and am wondering if these temps are normal when tracking or whether i they are caused by the choice of oil (currently using torco sr-5 5w-30). In particular should i be using a higher weight such as 40 or 50.

also i noticed a few aftermarket oil coolers on offer for the evo x and am interested to hear from those evo x's who are running these setup how effective they have been in reducing oil temps. I am considering making the investment in an additional oil cooler but am wondering if this will be effective before taking the plunge.

btw - for those sst drivers out there, i've got a custom sst oil cooler which limited my peak sst oil temps at 88C/190F which meant no "slow down" warnings even after extended periods in super-sport mode. the only thing that made me come into the pits were the high engine oil temps and need to cool down the brakes!
Old Sep 21, 2009, 01:33 PM
Evolving Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
did you happen to remove the passenger-side air duct beside your intercooler?
Old Sep 21, 2009, 03:58 PM
Evolving Member

go for the blitz RD oil cooler kit , a got it on my car and it works fine .
Old Sep 21, 2009, 07:20 PM
Evolved Member

Received 12 Likes on 9 Posts
I would try putting a fan behind the oil cooler before doing anything else. As well as removing the driving lights
Old Sep 22, 2009, 12:58 AM