Notices
Evo X General Discuss any generalized technical Evo X related topics that may not fit into the other forums.

Stage 1~2

Search this Thread

Old Mar 4, 2019, 04:34 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Stage 1~2

Hey guys
I am new to the evo and new to the mods. Just got an used 2015 evo x FE and looking to make it faster.
Now, I am looking into the AMS power packages but I've heard that AMS exhausts are really loud. I live in a community complex so I don't wanna **** my neighbors off.
Any advice on such exhaust that aren't too loud but makes powers. Also, I watched some videos said that better not have full atmosphere blowoff valves like HKS ones but I really obsess with that sound. What blowoff valves are good on evos?

Last edited by Markelov; Mar 4, 2019 at 06:11 PM.
Old Mar 4, 2019, 05:31 PM
EvoM Staff Alumni

Received 1,384 Likes on 1,317 Posts
Good to see you on the boards exploring options. Im a 9 owner, but some of the basic principals apply. Exhausts get louder when you eliminate the CAT. Running no CAT or a high flow CAT really increases the dB's. Also, many exhausts will have a resonator @ mid pipe so those will be your best at reducing the drone & the loudness combined w/the rear muffler

Turbo cars are naturally quieter than NA cars due to turbo. The turbo is like a sound muffler some ways.

Regarding the intake B/O valves, stick w/the stock system that recirculates. Unless the EvO motor is modded (i.e.Speed density intake), VTA blow-offs can make the engine stumble between shifts. W/your stock system, stay w/a re-circ valve set-up. On our EvO9's the stock valve is the best & most of us still use

Old Mar 4, 2019, 05:47 PM
Evolving Member

Received 34 Likes on 24 Posts
Originally Posted by Markelov
Hey guys
I am new to the evo and new to the mods. Just got an used 2015 evo x FE and looking to make it faster.