Notices
Evo X Tires / Wheels / Brakes / Suspension Discuss everything that helps make your car start and stop to the best of it's abilities.

Changing tire size on awc lancers

Search this Thread

Old Apr 18, 2018, 02:51 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Changing tire size on awc lancers

Afternoon everyone, I just got off an unpleasant phone call with Mitsubishi about using different tire sizes than oem. I was told when i purchased the car I could use tires that were close to the same diameter as the original tires, and now after I bought the car, they are telling me this voids the warranty. What I want to know is if the lancer se awc can be fitted with 235/40r18 or 225/40r18 tires or if it would be a problem. First time posting, so im a complete newb, Thanks.
Old Apr 18, 2018, 03:09 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
I don't see what the problem would be. There's less then a 10% difference in those sizes I imagine. Unless you have multiple tires with different sizes, as long as they all match I don't see how they could say something like that. As long as they are all the same size that should not present an issue for mechanical failures. Unless the owners manual states it specifically,
The following users liked this post:
silverdog25 (Apr 18, 2018)
Old Apr 18, 2018, 03:16 PM

Yeah in the manual it states "Avoid using different size tires from the one listed and the combined use of different types of tires, as this can affect driving safety." which imho is ridiculous, its very hard to find 215 45r18 tires, and when you do find them theyre always much more expensive than the 225 or 235 40r18 tires. I was told that Mitsubishi would have to prove that the larger tires broke the system whether it be the awc system or anything else. The lady at the dealership told me it could cause binding, although I dont see how as long as all of the wheels are the same size. If anyone with an awc lancer has different sized tires, id appreciate the feedback.
Old Apr 18, 2018, 03:18 PM