Notices
General Engine Management / Tuning Forum Discuss general EMS tuning concepts that do not pertain to a specfic brand or product.

EVO 8 JDM - Pulling timing

Search this Thread

Old Oct 11, 2023, 04:33 PM

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
EVO 8 JDM - Pulling timing

Hello everyone,

I am a complete noob. I have an EVO 8 and it was a fixer and I have been learning as I have been going.
I have only slightly modded the car, the following is what was done:

- Braided Lines 6AN Fuel tank to rail
- STM Fuel Rail
- Fuel Lab Mini FPR
- JDC Coil on Pack
- Walboro 255 pump
- New OEM injectors

- MHI Mitsubishi Evolution 4-9 TF06-18K Turbo Upgrade
- Tial BOV
- Mishimoto Intercooler
- Mishimoto Radiator
- STM Downpipe
- STM 3 piece cat back exhaust
- Zeitronix ZT2 wideband and boost

I have been working with someone online who has been helping me tune the car.

I recently installed the MHI Turbo and the car was running for a few days.

I went to log and all of a sudden around 4k rpm I felt a drop in power and the car struggled to reach 7k rpm.
On a few runs it would build full boost and on a few it would struggle to build boost.

There is no apparent boost leaks. Did a test to check. Checked the log and noticed a lot of knock. So I figured the it was pulling timing.
I am kind of stumped and not sure what to. I will attached my most recent logs where I did one WOT run in third.
Along with the last rom i flashed on the car.

Since I got the car the CEL has been on because of the EGR being removed. And sometimes it flashes during pulls but it never caused an issue before the turbo upgrade.

Any advice is welcomed. Thanks

Attached Files
Old Oct 11, 2023, 10:08 PM

Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts