Notices
Lancer General Come on in and discuss the US Lancer.

Dealing with your Dealer- Advice from a dealership tech.

Search this Thread

Old Jun 10, 2008, 11:58 AM
Evolving Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Dealing with your Dealer- Advice from a dealership tech.

A note from Kurt. This is a good thread full of good advise. Please keep this on topic. Thank you mcgarvey for this information.

I've read countless threads on here regarding warranty issues, people being told that their problem isn't covered, that they caused it, and lots of other complaints. I'm a delaership service technician and I know how this business works- I wanted to dispel a few myths and give my best advice to those who have a problem on their car that's still warrantied.

The most common complaint on here seems to be that Mitsu denied your warranty claim because of aftermarket equipment installed on your car, like an exhaust, intake, whatever. They can do this but only under certain conditions, and THERE IS NO SUCH THING AS HAVING YOUR WARRANTY VOIDED. I shall explain. If you install an exhaust system and one of your hangers breaks, and you attempt to have the dealer fix it, they won't. It's your fault because you installed a part that was likely heavier and put additional stress on the hangers. Here's a different scenario though. You install an exhaust, intake, adjustable cam gear, turbo, and whatever other crazy power increasing mods you can think of, and take your car in because it's overheating. Again, you're out of luck- you brought it upon yourself. However, if they tell you your warranty is "void" they are lying. If you brought the same car in with a sticky heater blend door, they still have to fix it, because your modifications do not directly affect the part being warrantied.