Notices
Lancer How To Requests / Questions / Tips If you have any questions, post them in here.

Using HID as DRL

Search this Thread

Old Mar 6, 2008, 07:01 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Using HID as DRL

Ok, im really new to all this, and yeah, i really dont have any electrical background whatsoever, but here is my situation. I have an HID kit but it doesnt have a harness (yeah, i know, everyone tells me i should get a harness for it) but hear me out. lol

So i was looking at all the options to bypass the DRLs but to be honest, i like my DRLs, i just dont like the way they make my HID kit flicker. so doing some searching i came across what was being sold as a DRL HID harness, where its supposed to take care of the DRL and help stop your HID kit from flickering. but when i got the product, it didnt work for the 08 lancer, so i tried to make the most of it.

Now, i took the DRL harness apart and just used the capacitor that was included in it and soldered that on to the 9006 (exactly the way it was shown for option 1 where the HID's are always on) and hoped that the capacitor would smooth out that waveform (the capacitor from the DRL harness is 25v 4700uF) then plugged that on to my HID ballast and the other end to the car's harness (power source for the original bulb)

what i noticed happening was whenever i start the car and release the hand brake, the HIDs would go on but no flickering, so i figured, hey that did something. but when i turn the lowbeams on, the light got brighter so i figure, which is something i wasnt expecting. but when i turn the lowbeams off and switch back to DRL mode, the light started to flicker again.