Notices
Lancer How Tos / Installations Post or link to your detailed how to / installation articles in here. If you have any questions regarding the how tos, feel free to post them in in the Request sub-forum.

How to install: RRM crankshaft pulley

Search this Thread

Old Jul 16, 2007, 03:41 PM
Evolving Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
How to install: RRM crankshaft pulley

P.S. mods....is this sticky worthy?

Hey guys and gals, got my Al crankshaft pulley from RRM.

overall, the mod is very very easy. but me being a newb, I was very hisitent about performing this. sorry for the crap pics, I forgot my digital camera, by the time I figured that out, i had the fornt tire off already, so I used my cellphone camera.

Tools needed:

5/8 box end wrenth
22 mm head for the crankshaft bolt.
oil
jack stand
jack
impact gun ( need a force above 155 lb/ft)
or some strong arms.
a friend ( I found it to be a lot easier with a friend with ya)
screwdriver both kinds

Step 1: Take of the wheel

Step 2: With a flat head screwdriver, pry out the black clips holding the plastic guard on. This will expose the crankshaft.

Step 3: Right above the crankshaft there is a tensioner pulley, use the box 5/8 wrench and turn it clockwise, it has some spring force on it so when turned clockwise, it will loosen the pully so you take off the stock crank. unscrew using either brute strength or a impact wrench.

Step4: Swap, dab some oil on the screw and screw it back in with.

Step 4: Make sure all pullies are on correctly and are sitting in its correct seat.
( just to make sure I had everything right, I used a phillips head to take off the plastic bottle where the collent goes in to get a better look and fit my hands in there.

Step5: start upthe car make sure everything is working right.....put the skirt back on, then wheel, use a star pattern to screw on the wheel , so its even.

Step6:jack down, Rip it up.