Notices
Lancer Tires, Wheels, Brakes & Suspension - Sponsored by The Tire Rack From suspension settings to new wheels and tires or brake upgrades... it's all covered here. Sponsored by: The Tire Rack

Tech Question on Understeer

Search this Thread

Old Nov 19, 2002, 09:58 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Tech Question on Understeer

I know what understeer is, but I am curious as to why a stiffer rear sway bar would help understeer. I had read somewhere on the forum that a front strut bar would be counteractive. I am curious how a stiffer sway bar in the rear of the vehicle helps understeer, as apposed to a strut bar in the front.
I am not an engineer, so could someone clarify this for me? I am greatly curious.

Cheers
Old Nov 19, 2002, 10:10 PM
Evolved Member

Understeer happens when you lose grip on the front tires as you turn. Wheel is turning ,but the car is still going straight.

The rear sway bar helps you toss the rear out a little. It's to help take some load off the front wheels, so ithe car will able to turn better.

Strut bar forces the front wheels to grip. The car will feel tight, meaning better be a finesse driver or lose control and understeer. Basically, fighting the wheel until mechanic grip of the car is overloaded.

Last edited by bahamut; Nov 19, 2002 at 10:13 PM.
Old Nov 19, 2002, 10:15 PM
Evolved Member

there are 3 kinds of grip: mechanical (suspension parts like camber adj, etc), tire grip (compound and thread patterns), and areo package (not going fast enough nor have underground body tunnels like the Ferrari Modena) like useful wing and air dam.
Old Dec 2, 2002, 06:06 PM
Evolving Member

dis conect it

hope you have an OZ . disconect the front sway bar at the end links this will give you a good demo of what the rear sway does for you be prepared for more body roll but but exellent turn in respons have fun
Old Dec 4, 2002, 03:52 AM

Lightbulb thought