Notices
Lancer Troubleshooting Get help with any troubleshooting problems you may have.

2003 Lancer ES - Constant battery drain

Search this Thread

Old Jan 19, 2015, 03:13 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2003 Lancer ES - Constant battery drain

Hey, everybody! I've got a 2003 Lancer ES, and I've been fighting this on-again/off-again problem for over 2 years now. I've tried a number of fixes, and I'll think I've got the problem licked -- but then, out of the blue, it'll come back. It's quite frustrating.

So basically, the problem is that -- occasionally -- my battery will drain overnight. Not completely, but just enough so that I don't have enough cold-crank amps to start my car in the morning. When that happens, I can start my car if someone gives me a jump -- or, I can connect a trickle-charger to my battery, let it sit for about 30-40 minutes, and it'll be good to go.

This issue, with the battery draining and the car refusing to start, will sometimes happen once in a month, after the car has been sitting all weekend. But sometimes it happens more often than that. This past week, it's been an everyday thing. So, perhaps the problem is getting worse.

In troubleshooting this problem, I have replaced my battery (twice). I have also replaced my alternator, which did test bad, according to the guys who tested it at Advance Auto Parts. I have also had all my belts replaced -- both serpentine belts and the timing belt -- not really to troubleshoot this issue, but just because they needed it. I have also replaced the positive terminal on my battery cable. The negative terminal seems to be fine; I've checked for corrosion and in fact have cleaned it several times just to make sure.