Notices
Motor Sports If you like rallying, road racing, autoxing, or track events, then this is the spot for you.

In reference to the Evo's "Heavy weight"...

Search this Thread

Old Jan 7, 2008, 08:45 AM
Evolved Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
In reference to the Evo's "Heavy weight"...

I keep reading competition related threads ,and one thing always stands out. The Evo is heavy, and has a disadvantage with it's competition. I'm new to the Evo, and I have a coupla questions:
What's it's competition, and what does it weigh?
The BMW 3's are heavier stock (so is a 911 nowadays), and I always see them doing quite well, in door to door racing anyway. How do they do well against their competition at their weight, but not the Evo? Heck, why isn't the 3 series the Evo's competition?
Why doesn't the Evo's handling and power overcome it?
Old Jan 7, 2008, 09:05 AM
Evolved Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
What is the Evo's competition in what? You have to provide a venue for us to answer that question. 3 series BMWs (primarily E36 M3s) are big competition for us in several SCCA Solo II classes, but that's low speed, tight-turn racing. We don't typically compete with them in track venues.

STIs are pretty much our main competition everywhere, and they weigh about the same, same drivetrain type, and similar power, so no real advantage there.

Vettes/Z06s also, but there we have neither a weight NOR power advantage in most cases.
Old Jan 7, 2008, 09:15 AM
Evolved Member

MOST references (at least I hope) are in reference to the stock weight on the track... Just in general and not to any competition... At least, that's when I reference the doggish weight of the Evo.

Compared to a ~2500lb S2k the Evo is heavy, since that's the other car I drove on track, I guess that would be its "competition"?