Notices
Motor Sports If you like rallying, road racing, autoxing, or track events, then this is the spot for you.

What kind of tires are the best?

Search this Thread

Old Feb 23, 2004, 05:58 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
What kind of tires are the best?

I started competing in SCCA solo II and I need your opinion what kind of tires should I get for this event. I am new at this and I don't know much about tires.
Are my stock tires the best for this event?
Would it be wise to get another set of rims just for the competition and keep my stock rims and tires for regular driving?

Thank you for your help
Sebastian
Old Feb 23, 2004, 06:03 PM
Evolved Member

Do a search and you'll find a lot of your answers. But, to answer you real quick..your stock tires will do just fine. If you can drive you can easily compete with the stock tires. Do a few events at novice level and you will see just how good they are. I found them to be best with around 42.5psi in front tires and 38 in rear.
But if you really want stickier tires..just get Kumho Victoracers. Hoosiers are stickier but don't last nearly as long and flat spot easily...definitely not a good tire for a novice autox'er.
Old Feb 23, 2004, 06:12 PM

I kept my stock tires at 32 in front and 29 in the rear.
If I change them to 42.5 in the front and 38 in the rear. Would this improve my handling?
Thank's
Sebastian
Old Feb 23, 2004, 06:15 PM
Evolved Member

If I change them to 42.5 in the front and 38 in the rear
Big time. You have to run more air pressure if you are pushing the car hard in the corners. You will get some terrible understeer with lower tire pressure.
Old Feb 23, 2004, 06:22 PM

Thank you for your help. That is exactly what I experienced but still managed to get 6th place for the first time.
I finally used the car what is made for
Old Feb 23, 2004, 09:15 PM
Bomb Squad Unit #02

Received 1 Like on 1 Post