Notices

2009 Lancer Ralliart - GST Basemap

Search this Thread

Old Jun 27, 2013, 03:58 PM
Evolved Member

Received 14 Likes on 13 Posts
Originally Posted by masafina
richard, there is a diference in cams or something from 2009 and 2013 ra engine?
Because the newer ra use so much timing at idle...why?
No, no difference. While the raw tables differ quite a bit, the actual 2011 timing used at idle is not what you see in the High Octane Timing Map. There is other stuff going on in the 2011 ROM between that table and final timing advance.

Originally Posted by bwen90
Thank you rich. Going to install that right away and datalog. Do you actually use a dyno with a 2013 ralliart to do that?is there that much of an improvement with the tbe and intake?
Please understand... I'm not a professional tuner, and I didn't put together this set of base maps. Bryan (razorlab) created the base tune itself - chose boost levels, designed the MIVEC timing, revised the ignition timing, fuelling, etc. I've contributed to areas like more advanced boost control for better accuracy, the SST-related table sets, fast logging patches, porting to other ROMs, etc. When it comes to ignition timing, fuelling, etc., that is all razorlab's amazing work.

Yes, Bryan did work on dyno-tuning a lot of RAs, EVOs and other vehicles. He also used to "e-tune" customers. For Ralliart, that work went into these Base Maps.

A note for the uninitiated. These are called BASE maps because they are intended as a tuning starting point. Some people are happy to use them as an off-the-shelf street tune.

You mentioned the TBE/AEM stuff. Yes, there is a big improvement... but once you get this far beyond the original tune, you do need to know what you are doing. You need to log and review the data to make sure the tune is safe for YOUR vehicle. In my opinion, a loggable wideband is a must. I would also recommend throwing the stock RA intercooler in the bin and replacing it with an Evo X FMIC (or after-market item).